Loading Events
This event has passed.

Ocala, Fla. (December 3, 2015) – Some of drag racing’s most illustrious personalities have been tabbed to present members of the “Class of 2016” to the International Drag Racing Hall of Fame (IDRHoF). The event which will be held at the Wyndham Gardens (Formerly Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites) in Gainesville, Fla., the evening of Thursday, March 17, 2016.


Included in the cast of presenters are three Top Fuel dragster World Champions and a Funny Car World Champion.


Ray Godman (Memphis, Tenn.), himself a member of the Hall of Fame, will be a co-presenter to his friend and driver, Preston Davis (Bartlett, Tenn.), along with International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) six-time Top Fuel World Champion, Clay Millican (Drummonds, Tenn.).


Inductee Jack Doyle (Wakefield, N.H.) was to be presented by IDRHoF member, Roger Gustin (Ironton, Oh.). Unfortunately, Gustin a pioneering jet Funny Car driver, and the highly respected promotor of the long-running Super Chevy Shows, passed away on December 15, 2015. The International Drag Racing Hall of Fame has not yet named a presenter, and will announce the selection in the near future.


The late Marvin Miller’s presentation will be handled by Steve Gibbs (Huntington Beach, Calif.), the long-time National Hot Rod Association (NHRA) Vice President of Competition, who had a lifelong friendship with Miller, and who will present Miller’s son, Mike, to the audience.


Mark Oswald (Houma, La.) will have two-time NHRA/Mello Yellow World Top Fuel Champion, Antron Brown (Pittsboro, Ind.), driver of the Don Schumacher Racing/Matco Tools car, as his presenter. Oswald has served as a co-crew chief for both of Brown’s championships.


Presenting Briton Dennis Priddle (Yoevil, Somerset, Great Britain) will be Don Garlits (Ocala, Fla.), the Founder/Chief Executive Officer/Curator of the Don Garlits Museum of Drag Racing, of which the IDRHoF is a vital part. Many feel that Priddle has had a similar role of leading the sport of drag racing to popularity in Great Britain and Europe as Don Garlits had in North America.


Early Funny Car legend, Gas (Gaspar) Ronda (Palm Desert, Calif.) will be presented by 2012 NHRA/Mello Yellow World Top Fuel Champion, Jack Beckman (Norco, Calif.), who drives the Infinite Hero Foundation Funny Car for the Don Schumacher Racing team, and an avid admirer of drag racing history.


The Founder’s Award will be presented by Don Garlits, and long-time nominating committee member, Harry Hibler (Tarzana, Calif.) to Rockingham Dragway owner, Steve Earwood (Rockingham, N.C.), for his life-long dedication to the sport.



The honorees are selected by a committee of veteran drag racing and performance industry figures. The selection committee consists of: Steve Gibbs (Retired Vice President, NHRA), Harry Hibler (President, Zircon Corporation), Ted Jones (Masters Entertainment, Retired President, IHRA) and Greg Sharp (Curator, Wally Parks NHRA Motorsports Museum). Don Garlits carries a tie-breaker vote for the selection committee, if required.